All Children Love Alphabet Soup

We just got back from a trip to visit Ryan’s family. I’m not sure what happened, but ET seems to have grown up quite a bit in those four days. We surprised Pop Pop (ET’s great grandpa, who he was named after) for his 90th birthday. I didn’t know he was so active on social media, but when he saw the kid he exclaimed, Oh my, it’s the stomachmonster!!

He’s pulling himself up and really trying to walk and can crawl properly now (ET not Pop Pop), though he still prefers the soldier crawl as it’s faster. AND he’s eating. Finally! I think being around an older cousin was good for him. He will now those horrid snack puffs and freeze-dried yogurt bites. I could only find Gerber brand at the store we went to but was able to find some sweetened only with fruit juice (Happy Tots).

Also, we learned he is not allergic to nuts! There’s no time like vacation time to see if your baby is allergic to anything. They were baked into Great-Grandma’s pumpkin bread. Oopsy!

He loves Cowgirl Creamery’s Mt Tam. Also shredded white cheddar, which I was making pimento cheese spread with. This is my kid.

And, like most airborne Americans, lil ET loves bloody mary mix. Spicy. I let him taste it off my finger, then used a cocktail straw to give him some more. He loves that stuff. So I’m going to make him some tomato soup tonight, made from better ingredients. Recipe below.

Ingredients:
Canned tomatoes
Fresh tomatoes
Tomato paste
Garlic
Olive oil
1 Can coconut milk

Optional:
Pasta (I have alphabet pasta from Raffetto’s but any small shape will work – orzo, stars, ditalini, etc.)
Cheese garnish
Basil garnish

Process:
1. Heat oil in a saucepan and add garlic, minced.
2. Add tomato paste and saute until fragrant.
3. Add diced fresh tomatoes, then canned tomatoes.
4. Add coconut milk.
5. Puree with immersion blender when cooked through.

I am going to add alphabet pasta to this, so I will overcook a small batch of it for the kid so it’s easier to eat. This will freeze nicely for future eating. I realize it’s getting too warm now for soup, but he doesn’t eat his food hot anyway. So there.

Leave a Reply

