While you were working…

…I ate a bunch of salads.

Favorite salad #IHeartSalt
My favorite anchovy-tomato-basil-red onion salad. I’ve been using Frankies 457 Olive Oil lately and it’s made a HUGE difference in my dressings.
Last night I also made a simple romaine salad and used their olive oil, lemon juice, dried oregano, pink salt, and fresh black pepper and it was so good and tasty. Good olive oil is expensive but it’s the best. I’ve always known this but it’s hard to spend those extra bucks!

Butternut squash & goat cheese. Salad #2 for today!
This is a roasted butternut squash and goat cheese salad that I got from a recipe exchange. Just toss peeled & cubed butternut squash in olive oil, balsamic, salt, pepper, and a little ground sage and roast it at 350 for about 45 mins. Let it cool slightly then serve it on top of baby spinach with some crumbled goat cheese, sunflower seeds, fresh black pepper, and a little more balsamic and olive oil. That is it. I roasted an entire squash, enough to supply me with lunch for a few days. I don’t normally like using a microwave at work so salads and room temperature things are best for me.

We’ve been eating at home for the past few weeks, as I ruptured my ACL and damaged my meniscus cartilage. I’m able to move around now, but in a couple of weeks I’ll be having surgery, so I’ll be back to square one. I’m telling you this because there will be a lot more homecooking coming up.

In the meantime, I am hoping to get some dim sum in this week before I go under. Also ESPO has a pop up shop close-ish to Atlantic Terminal that opens today that I’m hoping to check out. And, Xmas shopping at the Brooklyn Flea tomorrow. The most frustrating thing is that it took a month to get a proper diagnosis, and that I’ll be back to a big fat zero after the operation. Thankfully I’ll have HBO and my huge supply of yarn to keep me busy!

Leave a Reply

