Co-ha-bi-ta-tion

You read that right. It’s been a whirlwind these past few weeks. Ryan and I have been planning to move in together for a while and I wanted to wait for my lease to be up next June. However, circumstances beyond our control have forced us to move up that date to NOW, and we are moving in to our new apartment this weekend. I am sad to be leaving my sunny park side apartment and roommates, but also excited for this new beginning. Ryan, however, is ecstatic to be moving out of a toxic situation. The good thing is, our rent is cheaper and we get to stay in the same neighborhood.

We are not moving too far, which is good. But we are downsizing considerably and so now we are really looking at what we need, what we can live without, and what we can get rid of.

Here’s a photo of our kitchen – the stove is considerably smaller than what I’ve got right now, but Ryan says we can make it work:

I decided to do a post of pantry essentials that I think we need to keep in our new kitchen. Those items in italic are what we don’t have. Oh boy:

  1. White pepper (this comes ground already)
  2. Black peppercorns
  3. My salt collection (Maldon, pink Himalayan, sea salt)
  4. Dried oregano
  5. Dried rosemary
  6. Dried parsley
  7. Dried thyme
  8. Dried coriander
  9. Dried sage
  10. Garam masala
  11. Cumin
  12. Balsamic vinegar
  13. White vinegar
  14. Red wine vinegar
  15. Other vinegar (champagne, cider, I have pomegranate)
  16. Rice vinegar
  17. Black vinegar
  18. Chinese cooking wine
  19. Mirin
  20. Patis (fish sauce)
  21. Kecap manis
  22. Crushed red pepper
  23. Nori
  24. Soba noodles
  25. Rice (I have arborio, nishiki, forbidden/black, jasmine, and Thai red. Carolina rice packets are also nice to have, as is a wild rice mix.)
  26. Coconut milk
  27. Curry paste (I like Panang curry)
  28. Anchovies all the time
  29. Oil (Extra virgin, vegetable, sesame)
  30. Sweeteners (brown sugar, white/refined sugar, honey)

Surely I’ll think of more. What we need most of all is kitchen storage! Stay tuned for updates as we slowly move in and get settled.

Right now here’s a photo of our fridge. Just the essentials, you know. I think now there is also a half-eaten saussicon sec in there too.
New fridge

Favorite beers
May Stella Artois, Corona, or Heineken never see the inside of my fridge. Amen.

Leave a Reply

