Unleashed

I haven’t made it to the green market at all this summer, which really makes me sad because it’s prime tomato season right now. I finally made it yesterday after picking up some of Mimi’s yellow cherry tomatoes (I’m plant sitting for a week). I was going to get a few ingredients for dinner… But then I spied these:

Heirlooms

Trays and trays and trays of heirloom tomatoes! I bought about 3.5 lbs, as well as some Jersey heirlooms from another vendor. I also picked up some squash blossoms, sourdough bread, a whole bluefish, and some scallops. Needless to say, I went a little crazy.

Squash blossoms

I’ve never cooked with squash blossoms before but I figured I could put them in an omelet or saute them.

I made a tomato sandwich for a snack – toast or grill some crunchy/chewy bread (I used sourdough but peasant or country bread also works well), spread some mayo, layer on thick slices of tomato, and season with salt & pepper. Favorite summer snack.

Tomato sandwich

After eating that, I got started on dinner prep. First I made scallop ceviche. I had a leftover tomatillo and poblano chile from when we made enchiladas the other night. So I diced the tomatillo (I just used a small one), and about half of a gala apple. I let these sit in fresh lime juice and a little pomegranate vinegar. I’d spied a big bottle for $2.50 at the grocery so I decided to try it. To this I added a minced shallot and about a tablespoon of diced poblano chile. After rinsing and drying the scallops I sliced them into 1/4″ thick coins and put them in another container with just lime juice, salt, and pepper. After letting them sit in the fridge for about 30 minutes I combined everything to let sit for another few hours.

Scallop ceviche

It’s not very pretty, but it’s sort of reminiscent of kilawin na taningue, which is a steak-y fish ceviche that I love from the Philippines.

After this I prepped the pico de gallo, which I was going to stuff the bluefish with. I used a few varieties of heirlooms in different colors, as well as Mimi’s mini yellow cherry tomatoes, which were small and sweet. I added lime juice, pomegranate vinegar, half a jalapeno, about a tablespoon of diced poblano chile, scallions, salt, and pepper. I set aside some of the tomatoes without any spices, as Ryan was coming over with burrata. Burrata + heirloom tomatoes: another favorite summer snack. Just tear up some basil over it, add salt and pepper, and dig in.

Heirloom tomato pico de gallo

When Ryan arrived he started work on the zucchini blossoms, which he stuffed with a mixture of fresh ricotta, burrata, chorizo, and grated zucchini. He used an egg wash and lightly breaded them, then pan fried them. The result was gooey, cheesy, salty, crunchy. This was our “vegetable” side.

Zucchini blossoms stuffed w/ ricotta, burrata, chorizo, zucchini

I had a lot more leftover so we stuffed the remaining blossoms and froze them for future use.

The bluefish was baked in the oven with just olive oil, salt, and pepper. I cleaned and gutted it, which isn’t hard to do at all. I’m not squeamish about blood and guts so I had no problem doing this myself. The gills can be a bit tricky so it helps to have a pair of kitchen scissors handy. Also, be sure to rinse out the insides of the fish after de-gutting.

G.U.T.S.
Baked bluefish with pico de gallo

After dinner we lolled around until midnight, then picked up a Zipcar and headed out to Floyd Bennett Airfield around midnight in the hopes of catching a glimpse of the meteor shower. No such luck, however, as the sky was too cloudy to see anything. We saw two or three and headed home at around 3am to pass out. I am not mad at that. I am mad at the crazy Latino rave that was blasting Journey techno remixes all night long, though.

Happy Perseids.

Leave a Reply

