You win some, you lose some

The week started off really beautiful so I asked Ryan if we could grill out on his roof. I asked for hanger steak and lots of vegetables. This is what happened:
First rooftop grill of the spring
I marinated the flank steak in red wine vinegar, a little olive oil, shallots, salt, pepper. The tomatoes are just sliced and tossed with olive oil, red wine vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper. There’s also grilled onion, sauteed mushrooms, grilled corn on the cob and zucchini, and slow-cooked broccoli rabe. I prepped all of this and only cooked the broccoli rabe – I am a good ass sous chef!

And this is what we drank, which is the last of my Lot18 wine:
Rosé for grilling

And then because the food sat out all night before I finally put it away, I got sick from eating it the next day. I’ll spare you the gory details, just know that I ate rice with plain broth for the next 2-3 meals.

Thankfully my iron stomach recovered quickly and the following day I was craving Chuko. They had the softshell crab bun from their ramen event as a special:
Softshell crab bun special at Chuko

I ordered my usual vegetarian miso ramen but it was terrible! This happens every so often. I turned to see who was working the kitchen – my suspicions were confirmed…he’s usually the culprit of my not-so-great ramen.
It just tasted like salt. Highly disappointing but Ryan is the best and let me trade bowls with him. I only ate about half so he got to eat his ramen anyway. Winning!

After dinner I was feeling brave so we went to Ample Hills and got a pint of ice cream:
Ryan's current favorite

As well as a scoop of vanilla bean for me, topped with chewy hot fudge.

We ate this last night:
Coldcuts for dinner
That’s toasted sourdough from Almondine, dried cherries that I reconstituted in Bulleit Bourbon, cornichons-mortadella-spicy coppa-Piave-gorgonzola dolce from Choice Greene, paté, butter, and radishes. Cold cuts, my favorite dinner.

I’m back.

Leave a Reply

