Lamb chops with minted asparagus

I get the Food & Wine newsletter which usually has things in it that I don’t really want to make. But this week they had a collection of lamb recipes so I decided to check this one out.

It’s got a lot of ingredients but instead of using all those spices (cardamom, fennel, cumin, etc.) I used garam masala, which I bought a long time ago at Kalustyan’s. Same shit. Notes below:

Lamb with roasted potatoes and minted asparagus

I didn’t follow the recipe that closely – I never do. I read them to get the general idea then go from there. To make the marinade, heat olive oil and add garlic cloves. When they’re tender, puree with garam masala, rosemary (I have a rosemary plant from a food styling job I did last year), oregano, Hungarian paprika, balsamic vinegar, salt, and pepper. I used whole peppercorns – we have one of those multi-color blends.

I wanted thicker chops so I made double cuts, then arranged them in a baking dish and poured the marinade over them. I made sure that both sides of the chops got some flavor. The recipe says to marinate overnight but who does that in NYC?? Lamb has enough flavor on its own already – 2 hours was fine. I have a cast iron grill pan – about 7 minutes on each side for medium rare.

Ying bought some Yukon Gold (potatoes) and all I did was quarter them and wait for Ryan to get here. We roasted them in a cast iron skillet with duck fat, salt, pepper, and rosemary. 375 for about 40 minutes. For the asparagus we cut them into small pieces, forgoing that blanch-then-sautee business. Sautéed them with minced shallots, then added both lemon zest and juice, salt, pepper. If you are having trouble with zest use a vegetable peeler on the peel (don’t get the white pith part) then thinly slice them. Pro tip from Chef Ray Ray.

A bit more involved than that other lamb recipe I posted but it’s worth it. This marinade would work well on chicken too. Oh shit…

One response to “Lamb chops with minted asparagus

  1. The minted asparagus sounds INCREDIBLE! Here’s my favorite lamb side dish http://theslowlowdown.com/2012/03/29/fennel-in-cream/… but I’ll definitely be giving that asparagus a go!

Leave a Reply

